Yarn Chicken aka Why You Shouldn’t Procrastinate

A friend of mine is getting married. Exciting!!! So we had her bridal shower a couple weeks ago. I, of course, procrastinated on getting a gift. I knew they didn’t need much for their house, and the registry was pretty picked over by family members. So I put the task off.

Then, inspiration struck – on the Thursday before the shower… I decided to make an afghan. I had this gorgeous yarn and we were expecting snow, so I figured I would have a day off from work on Friday to get it done. My prediction was correct and everything was going wonderfully. I spent most of the time working on it wishing I was going to get to keep it at the end because this yarn is so warm and cozy!!!

IMG_20170311_132418

Then, disaster struck. On Saturday, with two hours to go until the shower, I ran out of yarn. I was SOOOO CLOSE!!!!! This is what we call yarn chicken. When you keep going, thinking that maybe there’s a chance you’ll have enough, until you realize there’s no way.

Alright, no problem. There’s a Michael’s about 15 minutes from my house, so I’ll have plenty of time to get it done. I get in my car and drive to Michael’s, making a bee line for the yarn. Well, this particular store apparently didn’t carry that colorway. Boo! On to the next Michael’s.

I start driving, and 1 mile from the other Michael’s I come to a screeching halt. There are firetrucks, ambulances, police cars, and lots and lots of traffic. Apparently someone crashed their car. I would feel bad for this person, except they were being arrested, so I’m thinking it was their own fault. Don’t drink and drive, people. It prevents other people like me from getting yarn in a timely manner.

I finally get to the store, get the yarn I need, and rush out of there. I get home with one hour to go and start furiously crocheting away in the middle of the living room floor.

This story has a happy ending, though. I finished with a half hour to spare and plenty of time to throw on a dress and wrap it up nicely with the other gifts I had purchased.

IMG_20170311_155519

I’m happy to say that the recipient loved the blanket, so it was well worth all of the chaos to get it done in time.

For those interested, I used Loops and Threads in Stormy. It is a simple corner to corner blanket, using a size L crochet hook and it took me about 10 hours to complete (not including the frantic driving!) for a blanket measuring about 45″ by 60″.

So, what’s your craziest yarn story? How often do you play yarn chicken?

Leave a comment