Overdue Update

Life is busy. What else is new? I thought I’d dump a few things on here that have been occupying my time lately.

So, I live in New England and we get snow. It’s’ a fact of life. Not one of the facts that I particularly care for, but I’ve gotten over it for the most part.

But snow needs to stay where it belongs: Christmas through Valentine’s Day. Outside of that time frame, I detest snow with a passion that is usually saved for Dolores Umbridge.

IMG_20170314_145023

So when March brought me not one, not two, but three snow days, I did what any crafter would do. I crocheted some crop tops for summer time.

 

I am obsessed with this yarn, but unfortunately Michael’s discontinued it. Now I’m scouring every Michael’s I come across to see if they have more on clearance, but I think I’m out of luck. Anyways, It’s Loops and Threads “Urban” in this gorgeous mustard color with a little tweedy effect to it. The top was made using this pattern although I made some alterations to take into account the weight of the yarn.

Here it is on me! I will definitely be rocking this to some concerts over the summer.

IMG_20170318_214816.jpg

I had also bought it in gray, and made this cute cardigan based on this pattern (same thing, made some changes since this yarn was thicker than the yarn the pattern calls for).

IMG_20170314_200041

My,

I really like the kimono like effect of this sweater! I think I’ll have to make a couple more with some other yarns. It was so much easier than I thought it was going to be!

Now that I’ve overcome my fear of making clothing, there’s no stopping me. I can’t wait to whip up a bunch of cute crop tops and bikini tops for my Etsy shop and maybe I’ll even write up some patterns for my blog!

Side note: only 10 days until my amazing vacation! Anyone have tips for international travel? Where are the best LYS (little yarn shops) in Scotland and Ireland?

One thought on “Overdue Update

  1. Hi Christina, I’m so glad you like the cardigan pattern!! You look great in it 🙂 I’m also thinking of making another one in thinner yarn, kind of like a wearable granny stripe blanket! x Carmen

    Like

Leave a comment